Natasha Wilson


363 Things – Use Biodegradable Doggie Waste Bags
February 1, 2009, 08:45
Filed under: 365 Things

db_golden_retriever_puppies1I have two dogs… that’s a lot of doggie waste.  As both a canine lover and an Earth lover, there’s nothing more mind boggling to me than the use of ye-olde grocery store bag to pick up, and subsequently trash your dog waste.  Think about it… lets take something that naturally breaks down into the Earth in a quick period of time (poop), and store it in a petroleum based bag that takes a hundred years to decompose.

Picking up after your pet is part of being a responsible pet owner.  In many cities, it’s also the law.  But we’re accountable to our planet too, and storing our dog waste in anything other than biodegradable bags is Earth abuse.

By using biodegradable bags, you’re:

  • Diverting naturally biodegradable waste from our landfills
  • Reducing the production and use of polyethylene-based plastic bages
  • Supporting advances in environmental technology (bags made from corn, instead of oil)
  • Enabling the natural decomposition lifecycle of waste; 10-45 days instead of hundreds of year
2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yep. I actually reuse the biodegradable plastic food bags that I get from my local organic store. I am working on replacing those with lightweight fabric bags – but those are in test mode right now, so in the meantime, I make sure to grab the biodegradable ones.

I don’t garden – not a green thumb to be found, but I am lucky enough to have room for a compost in my back yard. And since my compost will never be used on food, I toss in the bags of doggy droppings. It is a small compost, and it takes time to break down, but it just seems to make sense!

My personal confusion when first talking to someone about these biodegradable bags was, if I use this bag, then have to place it into a garbage bag, does it actually get the oxygen needed to help it break down? Is there a point? And she mentioned the option to compost the bags of poop, and I was convinced!

It works for me!

http://www.Eco-TAV.com

Comment by halyma

Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a
few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

Comment by biodegradable garbage bags




Leave a Reply

